The Hot Hand

Publisher : Custom House

ISBN-13 : 9780062820723

Page : 352 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 723 voters

For fans of Charles Duhigg, Philip Tetlock and Nate Silver, a brilliant and buoyant investigation into the existence (or not) of streaks, from a rising star at the Wall Street Journal. For decades, psychologists and economists have studied the science of streaks to determine whether the "hot hand" exists. Is there such a thing as being in the zone? Or it simply a case of seeing patterns in randomness? Genius scholars and Nobel Prize winners have dedicated years to answering this question. A substantial number of the decisions we make each day are rooted in two opposing beliefs: that if something happened before, it will happen again--or if it happened before, it probably won't happen again. The Hot Hand is an entertaining and provocative investigation into the seductive idea that streaks not only exist but can be created. Every day we look for patterns in coincidence, and coincidence in patterns. Is there a hidden logic that defies our basic understanding of probability? If we recognize someone has a hot hand, can we adjust to take advantage? If we mistakenly assume they have the hot hand, what are the costs? What happens when we're wrong--and what happens when maybe we were right all along? To answer these questions, Ben Cohen embarks on a kaleidoscopic investigation that ranges from the magical night that forever changed Golden State Warriors superstar Stephen Curry's life to a billionaire investor who made a fortune betting against streaks; a couple of young economists who realized everyone else had been doing the wrong math to how the bias of the human mind influenced a distinguished Iraqi sculptor's attempts to seek asylum; the mystery of a missing World War II hero to the authentication of a lost Van Gogh painting; how Shakespeare's success was abetted by a flea to how Spotify had to make its shuffle feature less random to feel more random. The Hot Hand takes us to the jungles of the Amazon, a sugar-beet farm in the upper Midwest, and strip mall arcades to show us how recognition of patterns can be both fruitful--and disastrous.

More Books:

The Hot Hand
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Benjamin Cohen
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-08 - Publisher: Custom House

For fans of Charles Duhigg, Philip Tetlock and Nate Silver, a brilliant and buoyant investigation into the existence (or not) of streaks, from a rising star at
Proceedings of the Twenty-Third Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society
Language: en
Pages: 1202
Authors: Johanna D. Moore
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher: Psychology Press

Vol. includes all papers and posters presented at 2001 Cog Sci Mtg & summaries of symposia & invited addresses. Deals w/ issues of repres & model'g cog processe
Preference, Belief, and Similarity
Language: en
Pages: 1040
Authors: Amos Tversky
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-11-21 - Publisher: MIT Press

Amos Tversky (1937–1996), a towering figure in cognitive and mathematical psychology, devoted his professional life to the study of similarity, judgment, and
Hot Hand
Language: en
Pages: 168
Authors: Alan Reifman
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-31 - Publisher: Potomac Books, Inc.

Upon witnessing a series of outstanding (or awful) performances, a sports fan or announcer may wonder, What are the odds of that happening? In fact, statisticia
The Oxford Handbook of the Economics of Gambling
Language: en
Pages: 752
Authors: Leighton Vaughan Williams
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-12 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

There is growing interest among academics and policymakers in the economics of gambling, which has been stimulated by major regulatory and tax changes in the U.
Lecture Notes in Behavioral Finance
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Venezia Itzhak
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-26 - Publisher: World Scientific

This volume presents lecture notes for a course in behavioral finance, most suitable for MBA students, but also adaptable for a PhD class. These lecture notes a
Mathletics
Language: en
Pages: 608
Authors: Wayne L. Winston
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-22 - Publisher: Princeton University Press

How to use math to improve performance and predict outcomes in professional sports Mathletics reveals the mathematical methods top coaches and managers use to e
Regression Analysis
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: Jeremy Arkes
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-21 - Publisher: Routledge

With the rise of "big data," there is an increasing demand to learn the skills needed to undertake sound quantitative analysis without requiring students to spe
Thinking Strategically: The Competitive Edge in Business, Politics, and Everyday Life
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Avinash K. Dixit
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 1993-04-17 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

The international bestseller—don't compete without it! A major bestseller in Japan, Financial Times Top Ten book of the year, Book-of-the-Month Club bestselle
The Economics of Aquatic Sports
Language: en
Pages: 101
Authors: Jill S. Harris
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-18 - Publisher: Springer Nature

This volume examines the economics of aquatic sports. Covering topics ranging from youth participation, collegiate level amateurism, and professional performanc