Our Once and Future Planet

Publisher : University of Chicago Press

ISBN-13 : 022608146X

Page : 544 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 46X voters

The environmental movement is plagued by pessimism. And that’s not unreasonable: with so many complicated, seemingly intractable problems facing the planet, coupled with a need to convince people of the dangers we face, it’s hard not to focus on the negative But that paints an unbalanced—and overly disheartening—picture of what’s going on with environmental stewardship today. There are success stories, and Our Once and Future Planet delivers a fascinating account of one of the most impressive areas of current environmental experimentation and innovation: ecological restoration. Veteran investigative reporter Paddy Woodworth has spent years traveling the globe and talking with people—scientists, politicians, and ordinary citizens—who are working on the front lines of the battle against environmental degradation. At sites ranging from Mexico to New Zealand and Chicago to Cape Town, Woodworth shows us the striking successes (and a few humbling failures) of groups that are attempting to use cutting-edge science to restore blighted, polluted, and otherwise troubled landscapes to states of ecological health—and, in some of the most controversial cases, to particular moments in historical time, before widespread human intervention. His firsthand field reports and interviews with participants reveal the promise, power, and limitations of restoration. Ecological restoration alone won’t solve the myriad problems facing our environment. But Our Once and Future Planet demonstrates the role it can play, and the hope, inspiration, and new knowledge that can come from saving even one small patch of earth.

More Books:

Our Once and Future Planet
Language: en
Pages: 544
Authors: Paddy Woodworth
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-15 - Publisher: University of Chicago Press

The environmental movement is plagued by pessimism. And that’s not unreasonable: with so many complicated, seemingly intractable problems facing the planet, c
Half-Earth: Our Planet's Fight for Life
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Edward O. Wilson
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-07 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

"An audacious and concrete proposal…Half-Earth completes the 86-year-old Wilson’s valedictory trilogy on the human animal and our place on the planet." —J
Ebb and Flow
Language: en
Pages: 296
Authors: Tom Koppel
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-09-30 - Publisher: Dundurn

Ebb and Flow was named one of 2007’s "best science books" by Peter Calamai, science editor of the Toronto Star [Dec. 30, 2007]. He calls it a "wonderful resou
We Alone
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: David Western
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-24 - Publisher: Yale University Press

A thoughtful exploration of how humans have endangered the Earth but can pull it back from the brink, as told by a renowned conservationist This personal and th
Climate Change and American Policy
Language: en
Pages: 340
Authors: John R. Burch, Jr.
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-04 - Publisher: McFarland

Climate change has long been a contentious issue, even before its official acknowledgment as a global threat in 1979. Government policies have varied widely, fr
Irreplaceable
Language: en
Pages: 302
Authors: Julian Hoffman
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-27 - Publisher: Penguin UK

For readers of George Monbiot, Mark Cocker and Robert Macfarlane - an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting t
Fundamentals of Ecotoxicology
Language: en
Pages: 682
Authors: Michael C. Newman
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-27 - Publisher: CRC Press

This new edition is revised throughout and includes new and expanded information on natural resource damage assessment, the latest emerging contaminants and iss
Health and Sustainability
Language: en
Pages: 472
Authors: Tee L. Guidotti
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-27 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Health and sustainability have become ubiquitous topics in all realms of popular discourse. What these discussions often overlook is the fact that the two conce
Routledge Handbook of Religion and Ecology
Language: en
Pages: 462
Authors: Willis J. Jenkins
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-07-22 - Publisher: Routledge

The moral values and interpretive systems of religions are crucially involved in how people imagine the challenges of sustainability and how societies mobilize
Strange Natures
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Kent H. Redford
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-22 - Publisher: Yale University Press

A groundbreaking examination of the implications of synthetic biology for biodiversity conservation Nature almost everywhere survives on human terms. The distin