The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012

Publisher : Weiser Books

ISBN-13 : 9781609250898

Page : 146 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 898 voters

On December 21, 2012, there will be an opportunity for the meek to prevail. So speaks one of the Mexican sages in Jock Whitehouse's 2012 anti-apocalypse book The Ledge of Quetzal. "There was a growing momentum of darkness in the world. As climate change spawned wildfires, tornadoes, hurricanes and floods; as earthquakes and mudslides turned entire villages into rubble; as political, social and religious differences gave rise to terrorism, genocide, and war; as the world teetered on the edge of economic chaos, it was not hard to imagine apocalypse in the making. The Maya, however, along with numerous other cultures and disciplines, had somehow discerned the largest cosmic cycles of man's destiny and the forces that surrounded it. And in those cycles they found, like the pause of a pendulum at its apogee, an opportunity for total change. It was like a second chance for all mankind." Yes, the weather is changing, world economies are shaky, terrorism and nationalism and fanatical leaders threaten global security. Some say civilization is ending. Can it be saved? Yes. Who can do that? We can. That’s the message that comes through in this wild adventure story - in the tradition of Castaneda and Coelho, deep into the heart of southern Mexico and its rich traditions of plant-based hallucinogens and the spiritual clarity they awaken.

More Books:

The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012
Language: en
Pages: 146
Authors: Jock Whitehouse
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-01 - Publisher: Weiser Books

On December 21, 2012, there will be an opportunity for the meek to prevail. So speaks one of the Mexican sages in Jock Whitehouse's 2012 anti-apocalypse book Th
The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Jock Whitehouse
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-01 - Publisher: Weiser Books

On December 21, 2012, there will be an opportunity for the meek to prevail. So speaks one of the Mexican sages in Jock Whitehouse's 2012 anti-apocalypse book Th
The Publishers Weekly
Language: en
Pages: 692
Authors:
Categories: American literature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher:

Guatemalans in the Aftermath of Violence
Language: en
Pages: 268
Authors: Kristi Anne Stølen
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-06-13 - Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

In this study of Guatemalan peasants rebuilding their lives after years in the crossfire, anthropologist Kristi Anne Stølen examines the dynamics of violence,
Teotihuacán, the City of the Gods
Language: en
Pages: 239
Authors: Eduardo Matos Moctezuma
Categories: Excavations (Archaeology)
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher: Rizzoli International Publications

The largest city of the ancient Americas, Teotihuacan flourished between the first century B.C. and the eighth century A.D., covering about three square miles,
Mexican and Central American Mythology
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Irene Nicholson
Categories: Art and mythology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1985 - Publisher: Peter Bedrick Books

Discusses the religious beliefs and legends of the Mexican and Central American Indians in pre-Hispanic times.